Life Time is the only club in this price range you can fact-check against a federal filing. Life Time Group Holdings trades as LTH and files a Form 10-K with the SEC, and that filing carries center-level membership economics no private competitor discloses. That gives cash payers something rare: a Tier 1 number to hold up against whatever a membership concierge quotes you.
The catch is that the filed number everyone repeats online is not the price of a membership. This guide separates the two, then prices the actual consumer tiers from Life Time’s own club pages, with the market and the date attached to every figure. All club prices below were read on September 4, 2026 and all filing figures come from the fiscal 2025 Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025.
What Does a Life Time Membership Cost Without Insurance?
| Life Time cost item | Low | Typical | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base membership starting dues, per month (9 club pages) | $219 | $285 | $349 |
| Life Time Digital, app only, no club access | $15 | $15 | $15 |
| On-hold membership, per month | $15 | $15 | $15 |
| Junior add-on, per child age 13 and under, per month | $30 | not stated | $100 |
| Implied dues per center membership, per month (10-K math) | not stated | $214 | not stated |
| Average revenue per center membership, all spending, per month | not stated | $294 | not stated |
| One-time service fee (add a club, add or inactivate a member) | $10 | $10 | $10 |
Club dues are the “Starting at” figure published on each club’s own memberships page. The $15 Digital and on-hold rates and the $30 to $100 junior add-on come from Life Time’s FAQ page and its 10-K. The $214 and $294 rows are explained below and are not prices you can buy.
The nine clubs we priced
Life Time’s dues vary more by ZIP code than almost any chain in the category. Read on September 4, 2026: Plano, Texas and Allen, Texas and Old Orchard, Illinois all started at $219 a month. St. Louis Park, Minnesota, in the company’s home market, started at $229. Beaverton, Oregon started at $299. Miami started at $339. Midtown Manhattan and One Wall Street both started at $348, with a “surcharge laws apply” footnote on the Manhattan page. Arden, California was the highest at $349.
That is a $130 a month spread, or $1,560 a year, for the same brand. Every one of those pages carries the same disclaimer: dues, pricing and fees “may vary by location and are subject to change.” Treat any single number you see quoted as a national Life Time price as wrong by construction.
The $3,531 figure is not a membership price
This is the mistake to avoid. Life Time’s 10-K states that “our average revenue per center membership increased to $3,531 in 2025 as compared to $3,160 and $2,810 in 2024 and 2023.” That is $294 a month, and it gets recycled across the web as what a Life Time membership costs. It is not.
That figure is total center revenue divided by memberships, and the same filing says membership dues and enrollment fees were 72.6% of center revenue for 2025 while in-center revenue was 27.4%. In-center revenue means Dynamic Personal Training, aquatics and kids programming, cafe and spa purchases, and tennis and pickleball programs.
Do the arithmetic on the filed dollars instead. Life Time reported $2,111,370 thousand in membership dues and enrollment fees against 822,380 center memberships at December 31, 2025. That is about $2,567 a year, or roughly $214 a month, in actual dues per membership. The other $80 a month of that $294 is money members spend inside the club after they walk in.
For scale, the same filing reports nearly 1.6 million individual members across 872,936 total memberships, 189 centers at year end, over 122 million visits in 2025 and 149 average visits per membership.
What Drives the Price
Which club you walk into
Life Time prices each athletic country club to its market. A Dallas suburb and a Manhattan tower are not selling the same real estate, and the dues follow. If you have two Life Time locations within driving distance, price both before you sign, because they can differ by $50 or more a month.
Standard versus Signature
Every location offers both. Life Time’s Signature Membership page describes Signature as Standard plus unlimited Signature Group Training, priority reservations for classes and infant care and summer camps, access to additional club locations, and complimentary indoor tennis and pickleball court time. Two things to know: Signature applies to everyone on the membership rather than one person, and Life Time does not publish the Signature dues rate online. You have to ask.
Who else is on the membership
Two adults who can show proof of cohabitation can share one membership, and dependents from three months to 25 years old can be added. Each added person means additional monthly dues plus a one-time $10 service fee. The junior add-on for children 13 and under runs $30 to $100 per month per child according to the 10-K.
What is billed on top of dues
Dynamic Personal Training, spa services, the cafe, MIORA longevity services and Reformer-style classes are all separate spend. Life Time’s club pages also warn that some spaces carry their own fee, noting that “your access to the outdoor pool area may require a separate fee,” and the FAQ says a Beach Club Initiation Fee may be required at specific locations. Indoor court fees are included with Signature, which is often the real reason racquet players upgrade.
Enrollment fees are real but unpublished
The 10-K says the company “may receive a one-time enrollment fee at the time a member joins” and that enrollment fees are “generally non-refundable after seven days.” Life Time does not post the amount on its join pages, so it is a negotiable-looking line item you will only see at signup. Ask for it in writing before you hand over a card.
Cash Price vs. Insurance
There is no insurance price for a health club, but there are two routes to a discount that most people miss.
Medicare.gov states that Medicare does not cover gym memberships or fitness programs and that you pay all costs, while noting they may be part of the extra coverage offered by Medicare Advantage plans, other Medicare health plans or Medigap. Life Time’s FAQ confirms it participates in Renew Active, Silver&Fit and SilverSneakers, and its ARORA pages explain what those buy: a Limited Access Membership with restricted hours, typically 9:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, 2:00 p.m. to close Saturday, and all open hours Sunday at the St. Louis Park club. That is a genuine $0 route into a premium club if your schedule fits it.
Life Time also lists third-party administrator partnerships with One Pass Commercial, Gympass, FitOn and Tivity Prime, and says a dues-subsidy fitness reimbursement program may be available to members insured by HealthPartners, UCare and PreferredOne. Call the number on your insurance card before you pay full dues.
For pretax dollars, IRS Publication 502 is blunt: you cannot include membership dues in a gym, health club or spa. The narrow exception is a weight-loss program treating a specific disease diagnosed by a physician, and even then the dues themselves are excluded. Assume Life Time dues are not HSA or FSA eligible unless your plan administrator says otherwise in writing.
How to Pay Less
Price at least three clubs before you join. The spread we found was $219 to $349 a month for the same brand on the same day. If a second Life Time is a reasonable commute, the cheaper one may be worth the extra ten minutes. Our fair price checker is built for exactly this kind of comparison.
Start Standard and upgrade only when you use the thing. Signature is the upsell, and Life Time lets you upgrade online or in the app at any time, with the new dues rate effective on upgrade. If you are not booking indoor court time or Signature Group Training in your first two months, you are paying for optionality you are not using.
Suspend instead of cancelling. After six months of club access you can suspend for up to four months once per year, drop to $15 a month on Life Time Digital, and come back with $0 joining fees. A 30-day notice is required. For a summer away or a busy quarter, that is a far better move than cancelling and re-enrolling.
Do not buy training you will not book. In-club spending is what pushes the average membership from about $214 a month in dues to $294 a month in total revenue. Price personal training as its own line item using our personal trainer cost guide before you bundle it into a membership conversation.
Get every fee in writing at signup. The enrollment fee, the Beach Club initiation fee, the outdoor pool fee and the $10 service fees are not on the website. Ask for the full first-month and first-year total on paper, then screenshot it. The same documentation habit that wins medical bill negotiations works on club billing disputes, and the broader case for demanding posted prices is covered in our guide to hospital price transparency.
Check your state’s health club statute before you sign anything long. Life Time’s own 10-K notes that state statutes typically require the right to cancel within three to 10 days after joining and a refund of enrollment fees paid, plus escrow or bonding requirements and limits on price or financing. Those rights exist whether or not the salesperson mentions them.
The Bottom Line
Budget $219 to $349 a month in base dues, verify your specific club, and expect the enrollment fee to appear only at signup. If someone tells you a Life Time membership costs $3,531 a year, they are quoting average revenue per membership from an SEC filing, not a price. Dues per membership in that same filing work out to about $214 a month.
Life Time sits at the top of the mainstream market, so it is worth pricing against the alternatives before committing. See our gym membership cost hub for the category, or compare directly with Equinox, LA Fitness and the YMCA, where income-based rates are standard rather than exceptional.