Gyms advertise a monthly number and collect three. There is the monthly due, a one-time enrollment or initiation fee at signup, and an annual maintenance fee that lands a month or two later and catches almost everyone by surprise. A “$15 a month” membership is really $229 to $288 in the first twelve months.
The good news for anyone paying cash is that the two largest publicly traded chains have to disclose their real pricing to the SEC, which gives you a Tier 1 cross-check on whatever the join page shows you. This guide prices the mainstream chains against that filed data, does the first-year math, and covers the state health club statutes that give you cancellation and refund rights most members never hear about. Figures were read on September 4, 2026 from company SEC filings, published join pages and state code.
What Does a Gym Membership Cost Without Insurance?
| Gym or membership type | Monthly dues | Enrollment fee | Annual fee | True first-year total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Planet Fitness Classic | $15 | $0 to $59 | $49 | $229 to $288 |
| Planet Fitness PF Black Card | $24.99 | $0 to $59 | $49 | $349 to $408 |
| Planet Fitness system average, all members | $19.51 | varies | $49 | About $283 |
| Crunch Base (single club) | $9.99 | $75 list | charged, shown at checkout | $195 plus annual fee |
| Crunch Peak (multi-club, classes) | $25.99 | $75 list | charged, shown at checkout | $387 plus annual fee |
| Crunch Peak Results (all amenities) | $29.99 | $75 list | charged, shown at checkout | $435 plus annual fee |
| YMCA of Greenville, adult | $59 to $74 | $59 joining fee | none listed | $767 to $947 |
| YMCA of Greenville, household | $79 to $95 | $69 joining fee | none listed | $1,017 to $1,209 |
| Life Time, implied from SEC filing | About $214 | not disclosed | not disclosed | $3,531 average revenue per membership, about $294 a month all in |
Planet Fitness figures come from the company’s fiscal 2025 Form 10-K. Crunch figures were read from crunch.com/join on September 4, 2026 for a Topeka, Kansas club and are location-specific. YMCA figures are the published rate card for six branches in Greenville, South Carolina. The Life Time dues figure is derived from its fiscal 2025 Form 10-K, which reports $2,111,370 thousand in membership dues and enrollment fees against 822,380 center memberships, or about $214 a month. The $3,531 average revenue per center membership in the same filing includes personal training and other in-club spending, not dues alone, and the published club rates run higher than the system average. See our Life Time membership cost guide for the club-by-club dues.
Every chain sets its own rate card and most set it club by club, so the brand you are considering matters more than any national average. We price the big ones individually: YMCA, LA Fitness, 24 Hour Fitness, Anytime Fitness, Life Time, Equinox and the boutique studio model at Orangetheory.
Planet Fitness Classic vs. Black Card
This is the comparison most people are actually searching for, so here is the whole thing in one place. Planet Fitness’s 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025 states “monthly membership dues starting at only $15 to new members for our standard Classic Card membership, or $24.99 for PF Black Card membership; current standard annual fees of $49; and enrollment fees of $0 to $59.”
Classic gets you your one home club and the gym floor. Black Card adds access to all locations, a guest every visit, and the recovery amenities (massage chairs, hydromassage, tanning). Free in-club fitness training in small groups is included with both tiers, which is genuinely unusual at this price and worth more than the tanning bed if you are new to lifting.
The math: Classic is $180 in dues plus $49 annual, so $229 if your enrollment fee is waived and $288 if you pay the full $59. Black Card is $299.88 plus $49, so $348.88 to $407.88. The Black Card premium is $120 a year. Planet Fitness reported Black Card penetration of 66.5% at the end of 2025 and average monthly dues of $19.51 across about 20.8 million members at 2,896 clubs, which tells you the blended reality sits between the two advertised tiers.
One caution: the $15 and $24.99 rates are national starting prices, and clubs run heavy promotions ($1 down offers with hard end dates are common). What you see on a join page is a location-specific, time-boxed quote, not a stable list price. Screenshot it.
What Drives the Price
The fees that are not the monthly rate
Enrollment fees range from $0 to $75 at the chains we checked, and Planet Fitness’s standard annual fee is $49. Crunch’s own join page discloses that the advertised monthly price excludes “any enrollment fee, recurring processing fees, annual fee, or applicable taxes,” and its checkout breaks out Enrollment Fee, Initial Monthly Dues and a pro-rated Annual Fee as separate line items. Add them up before you compare two gyms.
Contract term versus month to month
Month-to-month costs more per month and saves you money if you quit. Crunch’s month-to-month option begins only after an initial membership period of 60 days, so “no commitment” still means two months minimum. A 12-month commitment usually shaves a few dollars off the monthly rate in exchange for an early-termination obligation.
What tier of club you are buying
The spread across the category is roughly 20x. A budget chain sells access to equipment. A YMCA sells pools, courts, childcare and community programming, which is why adult dues run $59 to $95 a month. A premium athletic club sells all of that plus spa, cafe and racquet facilities, and Life Time’s average revenue of $3,531 per membership in 2025 (up from $3,160 in 2024 and $2,810 in 2023) shows how fast that number climbs once training and ancillary spending are included.
Your ZIP code and the calendar
Join-page prices are quoted per club, and promotions run constantly around New Year, Labor Day and back-to-school. The Crunch club we priced was running a Labor Day offer that dropped the $75 enrollment fee to $0.09. Those are real savings, but they are time-boxed and new-member-only, so the number you find in a roundup written last spring is unlikely to match what you are shown today.
Cash Price vs. Insurance
There is no insurance price for a gym. Medicare.gov states that Medicare does not cover gym memberships or fitness programs and that you pay all costs, while noting that gym memberships may be part of the extra coverage offered by Medicare Advantage plans, other Medicare health plans, or Medigap plans. If you are on Medicare, a Medicare Advantage fitness benefit is the one realistic route to a $0 membership, and it is worth checking during open enrollment rather than paying dues out of pocket all year.
Those Medicare Advantage fitness benefits are the reason a large share of older adults pay nothing for a gym. They are packaged under brand names by the plans rather than by the gyms, they are tied to a participating club network, and they change at renewal, so confirm the benefit with the plan and confirm your specific club participates before you cancel anything you are paying for.
For HSA and FSA money, IRS Publication 502 is unusually blunt. In the weight-loss section it states that you cannot include amounts you pay to lose weight unless the weight loss treats a specific disease diagnosed by a physician (obesity, hypertension and heart disease are the examples given), and it adds directly that “you can’t include membership dues in a gym, health club, or spa.” Assume dues are not eligible unless you have a physician’s letter of medical necessity, and confirm with your plan administrator before you spend.
How to Pay Less
Know your state’s health club law before you sign. These statutes are real consumer protection and almost nobody reads them. California Civil Code section 1812.86 caps total payment under a health studio services contract at $4,400 including initiation fees, which is why California clubs cannot sell you an unlimited multi-year prepay. New York General Business Law section 624 gives you three business days to cancel after receiving a copy of the contract, requires refunds within ten business days, and lets you cancel outright if you move more than 25 miles from any of the club’s locations or are disabled for three months or more. Look up your own state’s article before you hand over a card.
Ask for the financial assistance rate at a Y or community center. Ys and municipal recreation centers run income-based sliding scales as a matter of policy, and the application is usually a one-page form with a pay stub. The same approach that works for free and sliding-scale clinics works here.
Join in the promo window, not between them. Enrollment fees are the most heavily discounted part of the package, and a $75 fee waived to under a dollar is the single biggest one-time saving available. If you are not in a hurry, wait for a holiday offer.
Time your join date around the annual fee. The annual fee is charged on its own schedule, often 30 to 60 days after signup. Ask at signup for the exact billing date in writing so you are not paying another $49 for a year you are about to cancel out of.
Do the per-visit math honestly. A $15 Classic membership used twice a week costs about $2.20 a visit. The same membership used twice a month costs $9.55 a visit, and a $95 household Y membership used twice a month costs $50 a visit. If you are not sure you will go, start at the cheapest tier and upgrade later rather than buying amenities as motivation.
Cancel in writing and keep the receipt. Gym cancellations are the classic source of charges that keep hitting a card after you thought you were done. Send it in writing, keep proof of delivery, and if you are billed anyway, dispute it the same way you would any other bad charge. Our guide to negotiating a bill covers how to document and escalate. You can also compare local prices with our fair price checker.
The Bottom Line
Budget $195 to $435 for the first year at a budget chain and $767 to $1,209 at a full-service Y. Planet Fitness Classic is $229 to $288 all in and Black Card is $349 to $408, so the honest question is not $15 versus $24.99 but whether $120 a year buys you anything you will use.
Whatever you choose, price the enrollment fee and the annual fee alongside the dues, screenshot the offer you were shown, and check your state’s health club statute for your cancellation window. If a membership is not in the budget, small group personal training at a rec center, a Medicare Advantage fitness benefit, or a sliding-scale rate at your local Y can get you supervised activity without a long contract. For the coaching-and-nutrition side of the same goal, see our guides to Noom, WeightWatchers and working with a nutritionist.