A tracheal shave, known clinically as a chondrolaryngoplasty or thyroid cartilage reduction, is the smallest and most self-contained item on the facial feminization menu. It is usually a 30 to 90 minute outpatient operation, it needs no implants, and it is the one facial procedure people commonly book on its own rather than as part of a larger plan.

That is exactly why it has its own cash market. It is also why it is unusually hard to benchmark: there is no dedicated billing code for it, and therefore no published national price anywhere in the Medicare system to argue against. This guide gathers what practices actually post, what hospitals charge, and what the federal data does and does not tell you. Every figure was verified on September 4, 2026.

What Does a Tracheal Shave Cost Without Insurance?

Practice prices are posted fee-schedule figures or stated cost ranges, taken from the practices’ own pages. Hospital figures come from machine-readable price transparency files. Medicare figures come from CMS files and 2024 claims data.

Price pointLowTypicalHigh
Standalone cash price, published practice ranges$3,000$5,000$10,995
Atlanta practice, stated all-in range$3,000not stated$4,000
Seattle practice, posted price list (standard technique)$7,995$7,995$7,995
Seattle practice, posted price list (transoral technique)$10,995$10,995$10,995
Itemized: surgeon fee$2,500not stated$7,500
Itemized: surgical facility fee$500not stated$2,000
Itemized: anesthesia fee$500not stated$1,500
Hospital self-pay price, 31599 line items (Ochsner, 22% of gross)$510.62$1,857.68$3,776.74
Hospital gross charge, same 31599 line items$2,321$8,444$17,167
Hospital negotiated rates, 31599 outpatient (UVM Medical Center)$234.03$239.88$16,142.96
CPT 31599, average charge submitted to Medicare (facility)not applicable$4,525.71not applicable
CPT 31599, Medicare allowed amount (facility)not applicable$523.44not applicable

The practice figures are the ones that matter for a self-pay patient, because they are what you will actually be quoted. The hospital and Medicare rows are negotiating context: they show how far apart a charge sheet and a negotiated rate can sit on the same code.

That gap is unusually wide here. Under 2024 Medicare claims released May 21, 2026, providers submitted an average charge of $4,525.71 for CPT 31599 in a facility setting against a Medicare allowed amount of $523.44, a ratio of about 8.6 to 1. At the University of Vermont Medical Center, whose file is dated April 28, 2026, hospital outpatient negotiated rates on the same code run from $234.03 to $16,142.96, a 69-fold spread inside one hospital.

What Drives the Price

There is no national price for this code

Chondrolaryngoplasty is normally billed as CPT 31599, unlisted procedure on the larynx. In the July 2026 release of the CMS relative value file, code 31599 carries status indicator C, which CMS defines as “contractors price the code,” with payment established case by case after review of an operative report. The code has 0.00 work, practice expense and malpractice RVUs, so multiplying by the 2026 conversion factor of $33.4009 produces nothing.

The facility side is the same story. In the July 2026 ASC addenda, 31599 does not appear on Addendum AA, the list of covered surgical procedures, and it does appear on Addendum EE, “Surgical Procedures to be Excluded from Payment in ASCs for CY 2026.” A Medicare-covered ambulatory surgery center therefore has no published rate for it either.

An unlisted code with no published national payment is a strong signal that a market runs on cash, and this one does.

Technique

The traditional approach uses a small incision on the neck or under the chin. The transoral or “scar-free” approach goes through the inside of the lower lip and requires endoscopic navigation, more operating time and a longer recovery protocol. Allure Esthetic in Seattle prices that difference explicitly: $7,995 for the standard technique, $10,995 for the transoral one, a $3,000 premium for the absence of an external scar.

Note that this same practice contradicts itself on the transoral price. Its published price list and the summary box on its transoral page both say $10,995, while the body copy on that page says the procedure “starts at $14,995.” We have used the posted price list figure, and it is worth asking any practice to confirm a price in writing when its own pages disagree.

Where it is done

Three settings, three cost structures. An accredited in-office surgical suite folds the room into a single posted fee. A freestanding ambulatory surgery center bills a separate facility fee, commonly $500 to $2,000 for a procedure this short. A hospital operating room is the expensive door and the least predictable one.

Ochsner Clinic Foundation’s file dated April 1, 2026 shows what a hospital does with this code. Its 31599 line items carry gross charges from $2,321 for an intubation-level service to $17,167 for a cricothyroid subluxation, with a posted discounted cash price on every line at 22 percent of gross, so $510.62 to $3,776.74. That is a real self-pay discount and it is not universal. The UVM Medical Center file posts no cash price at all on its 31599 facility lines, only payer-negotiated rates, and on every related facial surgery code where it does post one, the discounted cash price is identical to the gross charge, meaning no self-pay discount. Whether a hospital offers a cash discount is a coin flip you have to check hospital by hospital.

Standalone versus bundled into an FFS session

Anesthesia and facility fees are billed by the clock. A tracheal shave added to a session that is already open for forehead or jaw work does not pay for a second anesthesia start, which is why practices commonly quote it lower as an add-on than as a standalone case. Radiance Surgery says on its own cost page that combining a tracheal shave with other facial procedures has saved its patients money as well as recovery time.

The reverse is also true. If the tracheal shave is the only thing you want, you are paying for a full anesthesia and facility setup for a procedure that may take under an hour, which is why the standalone price does not scale down as far as the short operating time suggests. See our facial feminization surgery cost guide for how the full menu prices out.

Anesthesia

General anesthesia is standard in the United States for this operation. Saxon MD’s breakdown states that a tracheal shave is typically done under general anesthesia and that the anesthesia fee is set by how long the case runs, which is why a short standalone procedure carries a smaller anesthesia line than the same shave inside a six-hour facial session. If a quote seems low, confirm which anesthesia it assumes, since that is a $500 to $1,500 line on its own. Our anesthesia cost guide covers how that fee is calculated.

Cash Price vs. Insurance

Coverage for a tracheal shave is genuinely split by carrier. Aetna’s Clinical Policy Bulletin 0615, read September 4, 2026, lists “Tracheal shave (reduction thyroid chondroplasty)” and “Chondrolaryngoplasty” among the procedures it considers not medically necessary and cosmetic, in the same policy where it treats chest surgery, gonadectomy and genital reconstruction as medically necessary when criteria are met. Other plans do cover it with a mental health letter documenting gender dysphoria.

For a procedure in the $3,000 to $11,000 band, running it through insurance is not automatically the cheaper path. If your deductible is untouched, you pay the negotiated rate up to the deductible anyway, and a hospital-based negotiated rate on CPT 31599 can be far above a $7,995 posted office-suite fee. A posted flat fee has one more advantage: it is a single known number, while an unlisted code billed through a hospital produces a claim that gets priced after the fact.

Ask any practice whether its quoted price is all-inclusive. Radiance in Atlanta frames its $3,000 to $4,000 as the cost of the procedure, and Allure Esthetic posts $7,995 as a single line on a price list, while Saxon MD’s breakdown makes clear that surgeon, facility and anesthesia are frequently three separate numbers that add to $5,000 to $10,000. Those framings can describe the same operation and look like different markets.

How to Pay Less

Get the price in writing, itemized. Ask specifically whether the number covers the surgeon, the facility and the anesthesia, plus the follow-up visits. Two quotes are not comparable until you know which of the three each one includes.

Ask what it costs as an add-on. If you are already considering other facial work, ask for the plan priced both ways. The incremental cost of adding a tracheal shave to an open session is typically well below its standalone price.

Avoid the hospital operating room if an accredited office suite is an option. This is the single largest structural saving available on this procedure. Where a hospital is involved, pull its machine-readable file and read the actual line rather than accepting a verbal estimate. Our guide to hospital price transparency explains how, and /tools/fair-price/ checks a quote against benchmark ranges.

Check whether the hospital publishes a self-pay discount. Ochsner’s file encodes a flat 22 percent of gross for cash payers. UVM’s encodes no discount at all. The difference on a comparable line was $3,777 versus $16,143, and the only way to know is to look.

Negotiate the bill you actually receive. If the work runs through a hospital or a claim gets priced after the fact, the first number is a starting point. Our step-by-step guide to negotiating medical bills has the script, and nonprofit hospitals are required to run financial assistance programs, which hospital charity care explains.

Appeal a denial on documentation, not on principle. Where a plan covers gender-affirming surgery at all, denials usually cite a specific unmet criterion. The written denial names it, and that is the thing to answer.

The Bottom Line

A tracheal shave is one of the few surgical procedures where you can walk in, get a flat posted price, and pay it. The realistic self-pay band is $3,000 to about $11,000, with the transoral scar-free technique at the top and a simple neck-incision procedure in an office suite at the bottom.

Because CPT 31599 is an unlisted code with no national Medicare payment and no ASC rate, nobody can hand you an official benchmark. The practical substitute is three written quotes that itemize the same three fees, plus a check of the local hospital’s posted cash price if a hospital is in the picture. Patients pricing a broader plan should also see facial feminization surgery, rhinoplasty and top surgery costs.