Facial feminization surgery, usually shortened to FFS, is not one operation with one price. It is an a la carte menu: forehead contouring and brow reduction, hairline advancement, rhinoplasty, cheek augmentation, lip lift, genioplasty and jaw contouring, and a tracheal shave. A patient who books one item and a patient who books seven are quoted numbers that are an order of magnitude apart, and both quotes are legitimate.

That is why the published ranges look so wide. This guide prices the individual units, prices the bundled sessions, and shows what actually moves the total, which is almost always how many procedures share a single anesthetic. Every figure below was verified on September 4, 2026, and the data vintage is stated with each one.

What Does Facial Feminization Surgery Cost Without Insurance?

Practice prices come from cost pages published by the surgeons themselves. Medicare benchmarks come from CMS files, which matter here not because Medicare pays for FFS (it rarely does) but because they show the gap between what gets billed and what a payer with leverage actually pays. The national charge data comes from a 2025 analysis of the National Ambulatory Surgery Sample, covering 3,359 outpatient FFS encounters.

Procedure or packageLowTypical / averageHigh
Lip lift (upper lip)not stated$3,663not stated
Chin surgery (implant or bone reduction)$4,995 (chin implant, posted)$7,184 (genioplasty average)$8,995 (chin reduction, posted)
Tracheal shave, standalone$5,000 (national average)$7,995 (posted, Seattle)$10,995 (transoral, posted)
Jaw contouringnot stated$7,006not stated
Brow liftnot stated$7,727not stated
Rhinoplasty$7,637 (ASPS surgeon-fee average)not stated$8,995 (posted all-in, Seattle)
Cheek augmentationnot stated$8,188not stated
Hairline advancementnot stated$8,996not stated
Forehead / frontal bone reductionnot stated$8,995 (posted, Seattle)not stated
Upper third package (hairline, frontal bone, brow)$10,000not stated$50,000
Middle third package (nose, cheeks)$6,000not stated$18,000
Lower third and neck package (lip, jaw, chin, neck)$4,500not stated$50,000
Total FFS charge, self-pay encounters (2017-2018 NASS)$17,392$27,736 (median)$39,385

The three package rows come from the Gender Confirmation Center’s published cash-pay ranges, and that practice states plainly that those figures exclude facility and anesthesia fees, which are billed by duration. The rows marked “posted” are line items from Allure Esthetic’s published Seattle price list, read September 4, 2026, which prices frontal bone reduction at $8,995, rhinoplasty with septoplasty at $8,995, a chin implant at $4,995, chin reduction at $8,995, a tracheal shave at $7,995 and a transoral tracheal shave at $10,995. The remaining averages come from FFS Institute’s published snapshot of 2025 national figures.

Read the rhinoplasty row carefully, because it shows how easy it is to compare two numbers that are not the same thing. The $7,637 is the American Society of Plastic Surgeons’ national average surgeon fee, and that page says outright the figure excludes anesthesia, operating room and other related expenses. The $8,995 is a single posted price covering the whole procedure at one practice. The gap between them is roughly what a facility and an anesthesiologist cost, not a difference of opinion about the surgery.

The same caution applies to the package rows. The Gender Confirmation Center prices the middle third of the face at $6,000 to $18,000 before facility and anesthesia, so a plan built from per-procedure averages will come in low against a real all-in quote.

What Drives the Price

How many procedures share one anesthetic

This is the biggest lever, and it is not subtle. Anesthesia and operating room time are billed by the clock, so a six-hour session running seven procedures pays for one anesthesia start and one facility setup instead of seven. FFS Institute states on its own cost page that combining procedures in one session can reduce cumulative facility and anesthesia costs against spacing them out, and the Gender Confirmation Center states that some surgeons discount grouped procedures outright.

The counterweight is cash flow. A combined session is one very large payment and one long recovery. Staging the work into two or three trips spreads the payments but pays the anesthesia and facility clock over again each time.

Bone work versus soft tissue

Cutting and repositioning bone costs more than lifting skin, and Medicare’s own payment groups show the split. In the July 2026 OPPS Addendum B, forehead reduction with contouring only (CPT 21137) falls into APC 5164 at $3,387.27, while forehead contouring with a setback of the anterior frontal sinus wall (CPT 21139) falls into APC 5165 at $6,048.05. Rhinoplasty, facial bone osteoplasty and jaw reconstruction all sit in that same higher group. Those are hospital outpatient rates effective July 1 through September 30, 2026, and they reset October 1.

The surgeon side moves the same direction. Using the 2026 conversion factor of $33.4009 from the July release of the CMS relative value file, the national physician payment works out to roughly $685 for CPT 21137, $984 for CPT 21139 and $1,354 for a complete external rhinoplasty (CPT 30410).

The gap between billed and paid

Medicare’s 2024 claims data, released May 21, 2026, shows how far apart the charge sheet and the negotiated rate sit on these codes. Nationally, providers submitted an average charge of $3,859.50 for CPT 21137 against a Medicare allowed amount of $492.09, roughly 7.8 times. For complete rhinoplasty (CPT 30410) it was $7,150.99 submitted against $1,610.84 allowed. For forehead contouring with sinus setback (CPT 21139) it was $5,073.68 against $982.12.

Hospital price-transparency files tell the same story from the other end. The University of Vermont Medical Center’s file dated April 28, 2026 lists a physician-side charge of $3,065 for CPT 21137, $4,430 for CPT 21139, $3,311 for facial bone reduction (CPT 21209) and $5,834 for complete rhinoplasty, with negotiated rates on those same lines running as low as $493.54, $711.38, $489.05 and $915.31. Its posted discounted cash price is identical to the gross charge on every one of those lines, which means that hospital offers no self-pay discount at all on this work.

Where the surgery happens

An accredited office surgical suite, a freestanding ambulatory surgery center and a hospital operating room price the same procedure very differently, and the facility fee is often the second-largest line on the quote after the surgeon.

Medicare’s own numbers show the size of that line. When facial bone augmentation (CPT 21208) is done in an office, the 2026 fee schedule pays the surgeon about $1,657, because the practice absorbs the room, the staff and the supplies. Do the identical procedure in a hospital and the surgeon is paid about $671, while the hospital collects a separate $6,048.05 outpatient facility payment under APC 5165. Same operation, and the facility line is roughly four times the surgeon line. Those hospital rates run through September 30, 2026 and reset October 1.

A practice that operates in its own accredited suite can fold the facility cost into a single posted number, which is why published price lists like Allure Esthetic’s read as flat fees rather than three-part estimates.

Hair, hormones and the rest of the plan

Hairline advancement is surgical, but many patients also budget for hair transplant work or laser hair removal around the same time, and neither is inside an FFS quote. Ongoing hormone therapy is a separate recurring cost.

Cash Price vs. Insurance

FFS sits in an unusual position: some carriers cover it and some explicitly do not. Aetna’s Clinical Policy Bulletin 0615, read on September 4, 2026, lists facial gender-affirming procedures as not medically necessary and cosmetic, naming brow reduction and lift, hairline advancement, rhinoplasty, cheek implants, lip augmentation, lower jaw reduction, chin reshaping and chondrolaryngoplasty, while treating chest surgery, gonadectomy and genital reconstruction as medically necessary when criteria are met. Other plans do cover FFS with a mental health letter and documentation of gender dysphoria.

That split shows up in the utilization data. In the 2025 Cureus analysis, private insurance was the primary payer on 50 percent of outpatient FFS encounters and self-pay was second at 20 percent, so the cash market here is large but not dominant.

For self-pay patients, the practical question is whether paying cash beats running it through a plan that covers only part of the plan. Charges for self-payers in that dataset had a median of $27,736, slightly above the private-insurance median of $26,989, so being uninsured did not buy a discount at the charge level. The discount, when it exists, comes from asking for it.

How to Pay Less

Get the quote itemized into three bills. Surgeon, facility and anesthesia are usually separate, and the Gender Confirmation Center says outright that its published procedure ranges exclude the last two because they are charged by duration. Ask which of the three a quoted figure covers before comparing two practices, because a low surgeon fee attached to an expensive facility is not a bargain.

Ask what dropping one unit saves. Because pricing is a la carte but the anesthesia clock is shared, removing a short procedure from a long session often saves less than its standalone price, and removing a long one saves more. Ask the coordinator to reprice the plan with and without each item rather than assuming the difference.

Price the facility separately from the surgeon. A surgeon who operates at more than one facility can often quote both. When a hospital is involved, pull its machine-readable price file and read the actual line: our guide to hospital price transparency walks through how, and /tools/fair-price/ checks a quote against benchmark ranges.

Appeal a denial rather than accepting it. Carriers deny FFS most often on documentation, not on the procedure. If a plan covers gender-affirming surgery at all, the written denial will name the criterion it says was unmet, which is the thing to answer.

Negotiate the balance you actually owe. If part of the work runs through a hospital, the posted cash price is a starting point, not a rule. Our step-by-step guide to negotiating medical bills covers the script, and nonprofit hospitals must run financial assistance programs, which is what hospital charity care explains.

Look at grants and financing before credit cards. The Gender Confirmation Center’s payment page points patients to Point of Pride’s Annual Transgender Surgery Fund and to medical lenders such as CareCredit. A structured loan at a stated rate is almost always cheaper than revolving credit.

The Bottom Line

FFS pricing is honest about being a menu, which makes it unusually shoppable for a surgical market. A single tracheal shave or lip lift starts in the low thousands, a full multi-zone plan reaches into the tens of thousands, and the same list of procedures can differ by $20,000 depending on how it is staged and where it is performed.

Get three itemized quotes, confirm which of the three bills each one covers, and ask every practice to price the plan both combined and staged. If you are starting with one unit, the tracheal shave is the most standalone item on the menu, and rhinoplasty, brow lift and chin implant pages carry the cosmetic-market pricing for those individual procedures. Patients budgeting across a broader surgical plan should also see top surgery costs and anesthesia costs.